Wholesome Spiced Carrot Pulp Muffins

The third recipe that I used for my juice pulp was found here: Wholesome Spiced Carrot Muffins.

These muffins ranked about a….eh….C in my book. Now, with all due respect to the baker, I take full responsibility for this recipe’s low grade. Why you ask? Well, the original recipe calls for chia seeds. I didn’t have any, so I omitted them from mine. However, it is noted in the original recipe’s instructions that the chia seeds should be soaked in 1/4 cup of water. Moronically, I forgot to add the 1/4 cup of water to my recipe, despite the lack of chia seeds. As a result, the muffins were dry and, for the lack of a better word, “blah”.

The recipe and photos on Jellibean Journals looked moist and delicious, so I am eager to attempt this recipe again. I encourage you to check out Jelli’s post, because I doubt that my version does the recipe justice. I also discovered the original recipe that inspired Jelli’s recipe, and that can be found at Kitchen Treaty.

Ingredients (makes approximately 12 muffins)

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup oats (rolled or quick)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder (I used low sodium baking powder)
  • 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I used NoSalt Salt Alternative)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup oil (I used vegetable oil)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg (As usual, Better’n Eggs for me)
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups carrot pulp
  • 1/4 cup water (this isn’t on the original ingredient list, but Jelli adds it to the recipe later in her instructions. I think that mine would have greatly improved if I’d had the water)

Instructions

  • Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  • Add the wet ingredients in one bowl. Mix them together.
  • Combine the dry ingredients in with the wet ingredients. Then, mix mix mix.
  • Lightly grease the muffin pans or use muffin liners. Divide the batter into 12.
  • Bake the muffins until they pass the toothpick test (insert a toothpick into the middle and it comes out of the muffin clean). For me, baking them took just over 20 minutes.
  • Allow the muffins to cool. Then, commence with nom-ing.

Here’s what I ended up with:

IMG_20131113_205230

My sad muffin mishap. Sorry for the poor photo quality.

Not adorable. But I’m optimistic for next time. Rob coined the name “fossilized poo muffins”– which we will re-name when I make the recipe CORRECTLY. Muffins with oats is a combination that I am eager to tackle. I’ll keep you updated as soon as I am ready to take it on again.

Rachel

Leave a Reply

