Thanksgiving 2013 Post

I’ve fought the urge to write a Thanksgiving post for the past couple of days; I try to practice appreciation as many days of the year as possible. But, I was also being a hipster about it, not wanting to post my thankful list on the same day as plenty of other bloggers. Perhaps I will post my “Thanksgiving Post” on another day, you know, to be original.

What changed my mind was something Rob read me from his Facebook. One of his friends posted: “I used to sleep outside and now I don’t. For that I am grateful.” I’m not gonna lie, I cried a litte.

I’d loosely contemplated an elaborate and goofy gratitude list, in typical Operation Rachel fashion, but today, I am focusing on my basic needs as a human being. I am lucky enough to have air to breathe, clean water to drink, food to eat, and even a warm, safe place to sleep. In some places and by some standards, I’m not just having my needs met; I’m living a luxurious and charmed life.

I’d be a fool not to acknowledge how fortunate I am. I plan on going above and beyond to appreciate that today.

Rachel

Leave a Reply

